Thursday, April 3, 2014

Review: Sincerely Yours

Sincerely Yours: A Novella Collection by Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes and Ann Shorey

Publication Date: 04/01/2014
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Imprint: Revell Books
Genre: Christian/Inspirational Fiction
Pages: 384
ISBN-10: 0800722043
ISBN-13: 978-0800722043

(Received for an honest review from Revell Books)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, ChristianBook, Indiebound

Jane Kirkpatrick on the WEB: website, blog, twitter, facebook, goodreads

Amanda Cabot on the WEB: website, blogfacebook, goodreads

Laurie Alice Eakes on the WEB: website, blog (15th of the month), twitter, facebook, goodreads

Ann Shorey on the WEB: website, blog, twitter, facebook, goodreads

Check out Jane Kirkpatrick's blog for a excerpt from each of the four stories in Sincerely Yours and a great giveaway posting soon! 

Synopsis:

Four unexpected letter.
Four intrepid women.
Four lives changed forever.

Spanning a century and a continent, these romantic novellas a will lead you on a journey through the landscape of love. Four young women find their lives altered after each receives a letter that sets her on a new path. From a Hudson River steamboat to a lush drawing room, from a carousel carver's workshop to a remote hospital, you'll be swept into the lives of women who are making their way in the world and finding love where they least expect it. 

MOONLIGHT PROMISE by Laurie Alice Eakes
Camilla Renfrew is a highborn English lady fleeing false accusations when she runs smack into love on a steamboat bound for the new Erie Canal. But can this unexpected attraction survive the treacherous journey?

LESSONS IN LOVE by Ann Shorey
Marigold Montgomery Bentley writes marriage advice for Kipler's Home Weekly even though she is single. Everyone assumes from the initials that "M.M" is a man. When the editor asks to meet Mr. Bentley, can Merrie come up with a ruse to keep her writing job?

ONE LITTLE WORD by Amanda Cabot
Lorraine Caldwell will lose her family fortune to a reckless cousin if she doesn't marry quickly. When she learns her long-lost brother is alive, she hopes she's found the answer to her problems. What she finds instead is a mysterious carousel carver who turns her life upside down.

A SAVING GRACE by Jane Kirkpatrick
Grace Hathaway must rescue a dear friend from a remote and notorious clinic that promises healing but delivers only heartache. In a place laced with deceit, where lives hang in the balance, whom can she trust to help her?

Thoughts:

Sincerely Yours is the first anthology from Revell Books, but hopefully not the last. With four award winning authors all writing a short piece based on "letters," this is book that will captivate and introduce readers to each authors style and voice. Each story is Christian based and incorporates issues of faith as well as an entertaining historical background. Fans of Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Ann Shorey and Laurie Alice Eakes will love this one and new readers will find four new authors to try. A great new book from Revell.

What I liked:

Revell has finally decided to do an anthology. I was really excited to be able to review this book for that reason. Main stream genres have been doing anthologies for a long time. I like to read them though they are sometimes harder to review. I like the fact that each of the stories follows a specific theme, in this case that theme is "letters" and each author does their own take on it. I think anthologies give new fans a chance to see what each author has to offer and if they want to read more and old fans a chance to catch up with their favorites. I hope to see many more from Revell in the future.

Moonlight Promise is Laurie Alice Eakes offering for this anthology and follows the adventure of an English lady on a Hudson River riverboat. I liked the characters and thought Eakes did a great job of incorporating the letter theme. 

Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey was my favorite of the anthology. It took letter writing in a different direction than any of the other authors. Making the heroine an advice columnist. I loved the fact that the lead character was a writer and found her dilemma with her editor comical and entertaining.

One Little Word by Amanda Cabot brought out some great historical detail with carousel making and made me want to know more. She did a wonderful job of adding her Christian message as well.

A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick was based on a true story and that gave it an all the more eerie feeling to it. I was surprised at the kinds of things that went on in the name of science and found this one really intriguing. 

I liked all four stories and had it been the first story I had read from each author I think each would have been represented very well. I thought that it was easy to see that each story was showed each authors voice and style and how they chose to incorporate their beliefs into their writing. I am looking forward to more books from each one of them.

What I didn't like:

As always with an anthology and short fiction in general I find myself wanting more. The novella format just isn't long enough in my opinion but it is a good showcase of each authors work. I just think it's hard to pack a romance into so few pages.

Bottom Line:

All four stories are exceptional. The writing is crisp and full of historical detail. The Christian message is presented well and does not overwhelm the reader, while still being that 'still small voice.' A great preview of what each author has to offer readers.

Available April 2014 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!




About the Author:


Jane Kirkpatrick is the award-winning author of many novels, including A Flickering Light. She is a frequent speaker at conferences and lives in Oregon. Visit www.jkbooks.com for more.




Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, the Westward Winds series, and Christmas Roses. She lives in Wyoming. Visit www.amandacabot.com for more. 






Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of The Midwives series and The Daughters of Bainbridge House series. Laurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband. Visit www.lauriealiceeakes.com for more.




Ann Shorey is the author of the At Home in Beldon Grove series and the Sisters at Heart series. Ann and her husband make their home in southwestern Oregon. Visit www.annshorey.com for more.

3 comments:

Jane Kirkpatrick said...

Thanks for reviewing this book and for your right on insights about anthologies in general. I'm happy happy for 5 stars!!

Ann Shorey said...

Thank you so much for your review! I'm delighted that you enjoyed our stories. Many extra thanks for the five apples from your book bag. :)

Amanda Cabot said...

Debbie -- Thanks for taking the time to read and review our stories. I'm delighted that you gave us such a high rating and really appreciate your helping to promote the book. Many, many thanks!