Friday, March 6, 2015

Review: Dogwood Hill by Sherryl Woods

Dogwood Hill (Chesapeake Shores - Book 12 by Sherryl Woods

Publication Date: 12/302014
Publisher: Harlequin
Imprint: Harlequin MIRA
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384

(Received for an honest review from Harlequin MIRA)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, itunes

Sherryl Woods on the WEB: websitefacebook, goodreads

Books in the series:

Chesapeake Shores

  1. The Inn at Eagle Point
  2. Flowers on Main
  3. Harbor Lights
  4. A Chesapeake Shores Christmas
  5. Driftwood Cottage
  6. Moonlight Cove
  7. Beach Lane
  8. An O'Brien Family Christmas
  9. The Summer Garden
10. A Seaside Christmas
11. The Christmas Bouquet
12. Dogwood Hill

Coverart: Click on the image for a larger, clearer view of the covers in this series.

Excerpt from Dogwood Hill, courtesy of the author's website.


#1 New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods tests the strength of the beloved O'Briens and proves that love and family can always triumph! 

When former pro football quarterback Aidan Mitchell comes to Chesapeake Shores to take a high school coaching job, he's embraced by the town—especially the O'Briens. But Aidan has a secret that could alter all their lives. 

For wounded Liz March, who's trying for a fresh start after a devastating betrayal, taking a chance on Aidan may be more than she can handle. Her heart, however, refuses to listen to her head. But just when forever seems within reach, Aidan's secret threatens to change everything. 


Sherryl Woods returns to Chesapeake Shores with Dogwood Hill, the twelfth book in the series. Woods has a knack for family dynamics and the O'Brien family is a joy to read about. The main couple may not have the O'Brien name but they are still in for some of their meddlesome family drama. This book will make you smile, make you cry and even make you feel a few proud moments. The happy-ever-after may be a given with this author, but the way she brings it about is anything but predictable!

Sherryl Woods is one of those authors that just brings a smile to your face. Her books are generally clean cut romances that give the reader a feel-good experience that is hard to miss. Dogwood Hill is no exception to the rule. Readers who are looking for a small town charm, a heartwarming romance and characters that have realistic issues and flaws, need look no further than Woods' Chesapeake Shores series. This is the twelfth book and readers are probably wondering how many O'Brien's there are in this small town. Woods proves you don't necessarily have to be an O'Brien to get your story told. I think readers will appreciate the change of direction and be very happy that the series will continue.

The main couple Aiden and Liz both carry some pretty substantial secrets. Aiden is in Chesapeake Shores under the guise of taking over the failing high school football team. But he is really seeking out his father. I won't mention any names, but if you throw a rock in Chesapeake Shores you might hit one of them *wink*. But which one? Liz is a little more complicated. She is a widow, who has trust issues that surround her former marriage. She holds back a lot with Aiden despite her growing feelings. Woods made the relationship seem very realistic, with Liz's fears about trusting Aiden and his secret keeping coming to the forefront.

Though readers know what to expect with Woods as far as the ending, it's what happens before that, that keeps them coming back for more. Yeah, the main couple doesn't really have a chance of not getting their happy ending, but the circumstances that lead up to are often just as interesting as that little hint of doubt about where it is going to end up. Woods has a way of making the reader believe in the magic of love and how true love can never really be defeated. I like that and I think fans of this author agree.

Bottom Line:

This is another example of why Sherryl Woods is so popular. She takes average, everyday people or characters and gives them life. She doesn't sugar coat their circumstances, she uses a little family influence along the way and she knows how to tell a good story. This is a great series for fans of Mariah Stewart and Debbie Macomber. Dogwood Hill is one of my favorites in the series so far and I'm happy to say that Woods isn't quite done with the O'Brien's just yet!

I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

About the Author:

With her roots firmly planted in the South, Sherryl Woods has written many of her more than 100 books in that distinctive setting, whether in her home state of Virginia, her adopted state, Florida, or her much-adored South Carolina. Sherryl is best known for her ability to creating endearing small town communities and families. She is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over 75 romances for Silhouette Desire and Special Edition.