Monday, August 31, 2015

Review: This Gun for Hire

This Gun for Hire by Jo Goodman

Publication Date: 04/07/2015
Publisher: Penguin Group
Imprint: Berkley
Genre: Historical Romance
Pages: 384

(Received for an honest review from Berkley)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, itunes

Jo Goodman on the WEB: websitefacebook, goodreads


"Perfectly crafted"—PW (starred review)Jo Goodman, a premier writer of western romance and the author of In Want of a Wife, is back with a sensational new novel for fans of Linda Lael Miller and Joan Johnston

He’s got a job to do…

Former army cavalryman Quill McKenna takes pride in protecting the most powerful man in Stonechurch, Colorado: Mr. Ramsey Stonechurch himself. But the mine owner has enemies, and after several threats on his life, mines, and family, Quill decides to hire someone to help guard the boss’s daughter. Only problem is the uncontrollable attraction he feels toward the fiery-haired woman who takes the job.
…but she’s a piece of work. 

Calico Nash has more knowledge of scouting and shooting than cross-stitching, but she agrees to pose as Ann’s private tutor while protecting her. But between her growing attraction to Quill and the escalating threats against the Stonechurches, Calico will soon have a choice to make—hang on to her hard-won independence or put her faith in Quill to create the kind of happy ending she never imagined…


This Gun for Hire is another great western historical romance from Jo Goodman. Goodman is an author that has great range, writing about everything from The Revolutionary War to the Old West and she does it all with flair and detail. This is the story of the bodyguard and the bounty hunter and how they come together to protect a prominent mining family who is receiving threats. Goodman doesn't pull any punches. Her characters have strength, integrity and often a feisty attitude and this book is no different. This one is a little on the lighter side than Goodman's usual fair and readers who love that distinctly western edge to their romances will love it!

Jo Goodman is one of those authors that I often feel is overlooked. She has been around for a long time and has written some very engaging and wonderful reads. But I think the fact that she doesn't stick to a particular genre has hurt her a bit and that is unfortunate because more readers need to check her out. Her writing is very detailed and rich. She uses not only humor and vitality, but the darker side of human nature as well. The Gun For Hire has a lighter side to it that is fun and enjoyable to read. It may not have as much darkness or angst as some would like, but I found it to be one of my favorites by this author. 

Characters Quill and Calico balanced each other in a delightful way. The banter between them was easy to follow and a lot of fun. I liked the way her sassy attitude complimented his larger than life cowboy persona. Calico was a rarity in the old west, a female bounty hunter. She had guts, she could use a gun and she also had that sensual side that reminded me of Sharon Stone in the movie, The Quick and the Dead. Quill was the handsome lawyer, turned bodyguard. He had a duty to protect and a sexiness that exuded from him. Together these two made the romance aspects of this book smoulder. Though, I felt the romance wasn't the main plot of the book, it certainly gave the reader what they wanted in a steamy relationship between two strong characters.

I think the western part of the story was the main focus of this book. But it was not like the romance was an afterthought. It added a spark to the story for sure. I liked the fact that Goodman took a good western and enhanced it in such a way that readers of both the romance and western genres would find it appealing. It was a good balance, but I found myself focusing in on what was happening in this mining town, who was behind all the shenanigans and the threats against the Stonechurch family. 

The secondary characters were as full detailed as the main characters and Goodman set a very good pace for this read. I think there is a lot here for readers to enjoy and I hope that more of you will check out other books from this author. Goodman is a favorite of mine and I hope she will become a favorite of yours too. If you are looking for a book with romance and historical appeal, This Gun For Hire is a great choice!

This Gun For Hire is available NOW from your favorite bookseller.

I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

About the Author:

Jo Goodman is a USA Today bestselling author who has written multiple series, including the Hamilton Family series and the Thorne Brothers series. Jo lives in West Virginia.