Thursday, December 11, 2014

Review and Giveaway: Coming Home

Coming Home (Surrender Trilogy - Book 3) by Lydia Michaels

Publication Date: 12/02/2014
Publisher: Penguin Group
Imprint: Berkley Books
Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance
Pages: 415
ISBN-10: 0425275086
ISBN-13: 978-0425275085

(Received for an honest review from Berkley Books)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, itunes

Lydia Michaels on the WEB: website, twitter, facebook, goodreads

Books in the series

The Surrender Trilogy

1. Falling In
2. Breaking Out
3. Coming Home

Coverart: Click the Image for a larger, clearer view of the covers in this series.


The conclusion of the savage, sensual Surrender trilogy in which betrayal, pain, and vengeance threaten to destroy a passion between two damaged souls…

Evelyn “Scout” Keats thought she finally found her long-sought happiness in billionaire Lucian Patras. But even though Lucian has always treated her like a queen, she has discovered she is nothing more than a pawn in his own secret game.

Worse, her long-time friend and supposed shining knight, Parker Hughes has also used her for his own interests by playing a part in Lucian’s game. Everyone’s honor is suspect, and no one can be trusted. It is Scout’s worst nightmare come to life.

As she struggles to comprehend the cost of a broken heart and the value of love, she must choose, once and for all, how much her pride can endure—and how much she is willing to risk to be truly happy.


Coming Home is the final book in Lydia Michaels', Surrender Trilogy. Scout and Lucian have reached the end of their journey and what a ride it has been. Michaels has a talent for writing strong independent characters and readers who love this series will find the conclusion of Lucian, Scout, Parker and Pearl's stories amazing. With plenty of steam, a very evocative premise and powerful emotional depth, this is a series erotic romance readers can't afford to miss!

What I liked:

If you have followed this series from the beginning you will probably be a little sad to see it end. Lydia Michaels has created some very memorable characters in this series that will be hard for readers to let go. Scout has been a strong and capable character from the start. Born on the streets, forced to survive and still able to make a better life for herself. She was courageous, determined and had a heart of gold. I think readers were really able to identify with her and were also invested in her. She bloomed like a flower and it was beautiful to read about. 

In this final installment of the series, Scout is ready to make it on her own. She wants the world and Lucian on her own terms this time. Not with Lucian pulling all the strings. I loved her tenacity in this book. She could do it and she would, his plans for her be darned. I liked the fact that she let him stew a little bit. She didn't just take him back on a whim, she was very sure of what she was doing. Such a wonderful heroine! Sad to see her story end.

Lucian was just as stubborn, just as commanding, and just as demanding as usual. But he was also just as loving, just as dominate and just as sexy as usual. He's that guy that drives you nuts. Wants to tell you what to do and when to do it, but he means well. He is just used to having his own way and when he's denied it, he gets pensive and emotionally bankrupt. He is very passionate both in good and bad ways, but I think that's why readers love him so much. He's complicated! Scout didn't give him his way, in fact she went out of her way to thwart his plans for her. She definitely had her reasons and I don't think readers will blame her one bit. He needed a taste of his own medicine and Scout and Lydia Michaels gave it to him. Bravo!

Bottom Line:

There were parts of this book that had me wondering how it was really going to turn out. Would she really surrender to him completely? Would he surrender to his own feelings? This book was all about that final thing each character needed to surrender to from Parker to Pearl, to Lucian to Scout. Surrender was the theme here in this final book and it worked. There was a bit too much soul searching and not enough acting on those feelings, but all in all a good end to a great series.

Coming Home is available NOW from your favorite bookseller.

I'm giving this one 4 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

About the Author:

Lydia Michaels writes all forms of hot romance. She presses the bounds of love and surprises readers just when they assume they have her stories figured out. From Amish vampyres, to wild Irishmen, to broken heroes, and heroines no man can match, Lydia takes readers on an emotional journey of the heart, mind, and soul with every story she pens. Her books are intellectual, erotic, haunting, always centered on love. She is the author of the Surrender Trilogy, including Falling In and Breaking Out.

Giveaway Details:

The publisher is sponsoring a giveaway for one copy of Coming Home by Lydia Michaels.

~ You must be an email subscriber to participate.
~ US addresses only.
~ The deadline to enter this giveaway is Midnight EST, December 25th.

1. Please leave a comment. If someone loses your trust what are some things they can do to rebuild it?

2. Please fill out the FORM.


lag123 said...

Once I lose trust in someone, I am always suspicious of them no matter what they do.
lag110 at mchsi dot com

bn100 said...


Texas Book Lover said...

I think it will just take time and a very open line of communication.