Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Review: With Autumn's Return

With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds - Book 3) by Amanda Cabot

Publication Date: 01/21/2014
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Imprint: Revell Books
Genre: Christian/Inspirational Historical Romance
Pages: 416
ISBN-10: 0800734610
ISBN-13: 978-0800734610

(Received for an honest review from Revell Books)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, ChristianBook, Indiebound

Amanda Cabot on the WEB: website, blogfacebook, goodreads

Books in the series

Summer of Promise (2012), Waiting for Spring (2013), With Autumn's Return (2014)

Coverart: Click the Image for a larger, clearer view of the covers in this series.

Excerpt from, With Autumn's Return, courtesy of the author's website.


Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne, Wyoming, to establish her medical practice thanks to the wooing of her two older sisters who extolled the beauty of the land. She's certain she'll have a line of patients eager for her expertise and gentle bedside manner. However, she soon discovers the town and its older doctor may not welcome a new physician. Even more frustrating, the handsome young attorney next door may not be ready for the idea of a woman doctor. For his part, Jason Nordling has nothing against women, but he's promised himself that the woman he marries will be a full-time mother.

Despite their firm principles, Elizabeth and Jason find that mutual attraction--and disdain from the community--is drawing them ever closer. And when the two find themselves working to save the life and tattered reputation of a local woman, they'll have to decide how far they're willing to go to find justice--and true love.


The third and final book in the Westward Winds trilogy by Amanda Cabot entitled With Autumn's Return is set in the late 1800's Cheyenne, Wyoming. It has enough Western imagery and heartfelt emotion to draw the reader in quickly and keep them flipping those pages. Cabot's knack for characterization and keen sense of integrating faith into her books is one of the things that keeps her readers returning with each new book she writes. A great example of Christian/Inspirational writing at it's best!

What I liked:

First let me say that I have not read the first two books in this series, though I have read several others by this author. It always amazes me how subtle and intuitive she is with writing about issues of faith. She weaves the ideas she has and the beliefs she follows into every aspect of the book, so that it becomes a part of the story and not just added to get the title of Christian or Inspirational fiction. Cabot knows how to allow her characters to show their faith in their daily lives as we should and that makes all the difference.

I loved the heroine in this one for several reasons. Elizabeth is the final Harding sister and she is certainly a go-getter. She knows what she wants and how to get it. She is a female doctor, which was kind of unheard of at the time. It reminded me of Jane Seymour's television show, Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman in some ways, which was a good thing, since I loved that show. She was determined to do everything she could for her patients even in the face of adversity, gossip and overall disdain of her abilities. I liked her tenacity and grasp of what was important.

I liked Jason as well, as a new attorney he was having a bit of self-doubt. He wasn't sure he could hack it in this cut throat business, but in the end he was able to find his inner strength and show that he had the stuff to make it. I liked the way his relationship with Elizabeth grew as they both faced their fears and worked to become accepted and valued in the community.

There was actually a murder in this book, several secondary characters that were well written and helped move the plot along, more than one tender romance and plenty of wonderful characters. There was quite a bit going on, but it all seemed to flow seamlessly and gave me more than one reason to smile.

What I didn't like: 

Not much to report here. This is probably one of my favorites by Cabot, so I can't offer any insights on how it would have been better. It's already good.

Bottom Line:

If you enjoy good Christian/Inspirational fiction you can't go wrong with an Amanda Cabot novel. With Autumn's Return is the final novel in the series but can easily be read as a stand alone. The characters are engaging and full of life and the research into the time period is flawless. Pick it up, you'll be glad you did!

Available January 2014 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

About the Author:

Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, Christmas RosesSummer of Promise, and Waiting for Spring. Her books have been finalists for the ACFW Carol Awards and RWA's Booksellers Best. She lives in Wyoming. Find out more at www.amandacabot.com.

1 comment:

Amanda Cabot said...

Five apples -- wow! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed With Autumn's Return enough to rate it so highly.