Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Review: Midnight Bites

Midnight Bites (A Morganville Vampires Book) by Rachel Caine

Publication Date: 03/01/2015
Publisher: Penguin Group
Imprint: Berkley NAL
Genre: Paranormal/UF
Pages: 512

(Received for an honest review from Berkley NAL)

Purchase: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, itunes

Rachel Caine on the WEB: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads

Excerpt from Midnight Bites, courtesy of Amazon's Look Inside feature

Books in the series:

Morganville Vampires

1. Glass Houses
2. Dead Girl's Dance

3. Midnight Alley
4. Feast of Fools
5. Lord of Misrule
6. Carpe Corpus
7. Fade Out
8. Kiss of Death
9. Ghost Town
10. Bite Club
11. Last Breath
12. Black Dawn
13. Bitter Blood
14. Fall of Night
15. Daylighters

Midnight Bites

Coverart: (Click on the photo for a larger, clearer view of the covers in this series)


New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine presents a collection of stories—including six new tales—featuring the little Texas town that’s overrun by the undead.

By day, Morganville, Texas, is just a typical college town. By night, the vampires emerge and take control.... 
In a town where it’s not safe to be out after dark, student Claire Danvers and her friends have had their fair share of thrills. But Morganville still has a few secrets left to tell.
Now, in this collection, you can venture down the town’s strange streets, revisit all the tales you’ve come to love, and experience six new stories featuring your favorite Morganville residents—both human and vampire...


Hold on to your hats, Morganville fans! Rachel Caine returns with Midnight Bites. This is a collection of old and new stories from the Morganville Vampire world. Readers who couldn't quite bear to see the end of this series will be jumping for joy over this one. Twenty-two stories, six of which are all new! Some , are short, some are longer. The previous stories have all been collected from anthologies, web specials and even the authors personal thoughts on her characters. It's must read for any Morganville fan!

What I liked:

I'm a huge fan of Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampire series. I was really sad to see it end, but I had a feeling Caine wasn't quite done with this world yet. I love the freedom that novellas and collections give authors to continue to post shorts from the amazing worlds they have created without changing the overall series. It's so nice to be able to learn more about characters and what makes them tick. Midnight Bites is one of those collections that makes you feel like you are getting a behind the scenes look at the series, through each characters eyes. It was amazing with a capital A! lol

Caine not only collects all of the Morganville stories that have appeared in anthologies throughout the years, but she also gives the reader a look at some stories that were written primarily for the web and some of her own personal sketches of characters and situations that she used in her own writing. How cool is that? I also really enjoyed the fact that there is a short little paragraph written by Caine at the beginning of each story that basically explains each one. Great insight into her process! 

Another thing that sets this collection apart is that it follows the time line of the series. Each story is in order that it would have appeared within the series, so the reader gets to see Eve in the beginning before she becomes a roommate at the Glass house, but they also get to see later on when things have been dramatically different for her. I loved the growth the reader gets to experience in all the characters due to the time line of the stories.

The main Morganville series focuses on Claire and her story is really the most prominent voice in the book. In this collection readers get stories from so many different points of view. Myrnin, Shane, Eve, even Hannah Moses. It was just a joy to see so many old stories, but also get to see the six new ones and how they meshed together. Makes a reader want to go back and the whole series again! Oh My!

Bottom Line:

If you are a fan of Morganville, you can't leave this one on the shelf. It's an amazing collection. Twenty-two stories, six of them new. Several points of view. Old stories, new stories, you name it. Anthology stories, web only stories, character sketches. When Caine decided to give readers more, she went big. I can't recommend this one enough to fans of series, and if you haven't tried it.... you don't have a clue what you are missing!

Midnight Bites is available NOW from your favorite bookseller.

I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

About the Author:

Rachel Caine is the New York TimesUSA Today, and international bestselling author of more than forty novels, including The Great Library series, Prince of Shadows, the Weather Warden series, the Outcast Season series, the Revivalist series, and the Morganville Vampires series.

No comments: