Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Review and Giveaway: Here Burns My Candle

My Synopsis:


Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs

(For review from Waterbrook Multnomah. Blog tour dates March 22-26)

As the Jacobite Uprising of 1745 unfolds as a back drop to the story, Lady Elizabeth Kerr, a highland lass lives in Edinburgh with her husband, Lord Donald Kerr. Elizabeth follows the auld ways, but lately she has begun to have doubts about her beliefs. Her love for her family is sorely tested by the gossips and whispered rumors of her husbands unfaithfulness.

Lord Kerr loves his wife but constantly battles his own demons. He and his brother Andrew must make some hard decisions about where their loyalties lie. With King George in England or "bonny Prince Charlie," as he tries to reclaim the throne for the Stuart line.

Lady Marjory, Elizabeth's mother-in-law has regrets of her own. With her husband gone, she has little do other than dote on her sons and her daughter-in-laws, but will her extravagances cost them more than she can bear to part with?

My Thoughts:

Liz Curtis Higgs has done a wonderful job with this book. The historical accuracy is astounding. I wonder at the amount of research it must have taken to make this book a reality. It is obvious that she has taken great care with the facts and stories that surround the Jacobite Uprising of 1745. Readers who are unfamiliar with this event will come away from this book feeling educated as well as entertained.

This book is based on the Biblical story of Ruth and Naomi. It is a re-telling of sorts that emphasizes the relationships that exist within families. Lady Elizabeth faces the censure of her mother-in-law because of her highland birth and ways, but she learns that she has much to contribute to this family. Lady Marjory changes a lot from the beginning up the book, 'til the end. She begins to see the error of her ways in judging Elizabeth and eventually comes to love and respect her dearly.

Though the women of this book are forced to deal with great tragedy and loss they also learn a deep and abiding faith in God and His ability to see them through. Elizabeth is forced to face her doubts about her own faith and in the end she knows that Lady Marjory can help her learn more about the God she is desperately seeking.

The second book, Mine is the Night will continue the story of the Kerr women, picking up in the later part of the book of Ruth. I highly anticipate this book and can't wait for it's release in the Spring of 2011. Here Burns My Candle is an excellent book for fans of Historical and Christian Fiction.


I give this one 5 out of 5 apples from my book bag!

It is available from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. Here are some different options for purchasing the book:


Here is some more information about the author and book trailer for Here Burns My Candle.



Liz Curtis Higgs has been telling tales since she attempted her first novel–handwritten in a marble notebook–at the tender age of ten. Successful careers in broadcasting, public speaking, nonfiction writing, and children's books honed Liz's storytelling talents, bringing her back to her first love–writing fiction–at the turn of the 21st century.

A gifted speaker, Liz Curtis Higgs has presented more than 1,500 inspirational programs for audiences in all 50 United States as well as Germany, England, Canada, Ecuador, France, and Scotland. In 1995, Liz received the highest award in professional speaking, the "Council of Peers Award for Excellence," becoming one of only forty women in the world named to the CPAE-Speaker Hall of Fame by the National Speakers Association.

Feature articles about Liz have appeared in more than 250 major newspapers and magazines across the country, and she has been interviewed on more than 600 radio and television stations, including guest appearances on PBS, A&E, MSNBC, NPR, CBC Canada, BBC Radio Scotland,
Focus on the Family, andJanet Parshall's America.
Liz is the author of 22 books, with 3 million copies in print. Her fiction to date includes two contemporary novels and three historical novels…
• Mixed Signals
• Bookends
• Thorn in My Heart
• Fair Is the Rose
• Whence Came a Prince

Her best-selling nonfiction books include…

• Bad Girls of the Bible
• Really Bad Girls of the Bible
• Unveiling Mary Magdalene
• Rise and Shine: A Devotional

Three of the above titles have corresponding VHS videos and companion workbooks.
And she has written five books for young children…
• The Pumpkin Patch Parable
• The Parable of the Lily
• The Sunflower Parable
• The Pine Tree Parable
• Go Away, Dark Night


Her children's Parable Series was awarded the ECPA Gold Medallion for Excellence in 1998, and her book Bad Girls of the Bible received the ECPA Gold Book Award in 2004 for sales of more than 500,000 copies. Her first novel, Mixed Signals, was a Romance Writers of America 2000 Rita Award Finalist for both Best First Novel and Best Inspirational Novel. Liz's second novel, Bookends, was a 2001 Christy Award Finalist for Best Contemporary Fiction. Her third novel, Thorn in My Heart, was a #1 historical fiction Christian bestseller, followed by Fair Is the Rose, which reached best-seller status days after its release. Whence Came a Prince, the final novel in the series, published in March 2005. In addition, Liz is the editor of an annual newsletter, The Graceful Heart, with 20,000 readers world wide, and is a columnist for Today's Christian Woman magazine with her popular back page feature, "Life with Liz." More than 2,000 churches nationwide are using her 2004 video Bible study series, Loved by God.

On the personal side, Liz is married to Bill Higgs, Ph.D., who serves as Director of Operations for her speaking and writing office. Liz and Bill share their 19th-century farmhouse in Kentucky with their two teenagers, Matt and Lilly, and too many cats. For more about Liz, visit her Web site: www.LizCurtisHiggs.com.






I have one copy of Here Burns my Candle to give away to one lucky winner!

This giveaway will be open to U.S. residents only and will end on March 31st at Midnight.
You must be a follower of this blog to enter. To enter leave a comment on this post with a valid e-mail address so that I can contact you if you win.

8 comments:

misskallie2000 said...

I love this era and this book sounds like a winner. This is the first I have heard of this book and author. I am adding both to by to buy list. Loved your review and can't wait to read. Pls enter me in this giveaway. Thanks.

I am a follower

misskallie2000 at yahoo dot com

Liz Curtis said...

Debbie, your review was amazing! Bless you, lass, many times over. I especially loved your comment that readers "will come away from this book feeling educated as well as entertained." That's one of the things that has always drawn me to historical fiction as a reader. Yes, I love candlelight and sword fights and silk gowns, but I also LOVE to learn about a different time and place. Well done, my dear...and thanks for all those apples! ;>)

justpeachy36 said...

LOL... Thank-You, Liz! I really enjoyed the book! I'm of Scottish descent and found it very interesting.

CelticLady said...

Sign me up please!!!!! Great review and I do have some of the authors other books so I must have missed this post. Thank you

momkelly2003@yahoo.com

robin_titan said...

Wow it sounds really great and I love historical fiction :)

lcintocable [a]gmail[d]com

Mystica said...

I also love historical fiction and would like to be counted for this giveaway.

mystica123athotmaildotcom

scottsgal said...

I've read a couple good reviews of this book recently so please count me in as well
msboatgal at aol.com

Shy said...

Seriously, seriously, seriously sounds great. I've take note of this author's name, hoping that I could find her books over here!